The World

The rich and colourful characters featured in the Warcraft franchise call Azeroth their home. Far from being a peaceful planet, Azeroth has suffered many catastrophes and endured through many wars. In face of these obstacles, many of Azeroth's peoples find themselves divided into two major factions: the Alliance and the Horde.

Each faction consists of seven races that have mutual interests and allegiances. The Alliance is comprised of the humans, dwarves, gnomes, night elves, draenei and worgen. The Horde is comprised of the orcs, trolls, tauren, forsaken, blood elves and goblins. The pandaren hold no true allegiance with either faction but its members are free to join either. Despite the two separate factions often finding themselves at odds with one another, they have demonstrated an ability to work together to protect the world they love.

Azeroth is not the only planet in Warcraft. The orcs originally hailed from the planet Draenor (the destroyed version known as Outland) before coming through the Dark Portal into Azeroth. Similarly, the draenei had fled the threat of the Burning Legion on their homeworld Argus, settling first on Draenor and later on Azeroth.

Warcraft - About the games.
Glossary - Explanation of common terms.
Leaders - List of current faction/racial leaders. Spoilers!
Races - Basic overview.